A Year in Review

2017 was a VERY BUSY year for Round Mountain Fibers! Here are a few highlights:

The New Studio!

We were quickly outgrowing our little studio, and desperately needed running water for the winter months. So we launched our Kickstarter campaign in late spring to help fund the move to a new, larger studio with running water! We raised $13,526 from 290 wonderful backers, who purchased our Kickstarter colorways to help fund this project. We’re still working on getting settled in the new studio, and no doubt will be rearranging the furniture for a while to come!

The Old Studio 

The Old Studio 

Brrrr! 

Brrrr! 

The basement undergoing construction to make way for our new studio!

The basement undergoing construction to make way for our new studio!

The new studio! Yay!

The new studio! Yay!

Another shot of the new basement! 

Another shot of the new basement! 

100g Fingering Kickstarter Fade Collection

100g Fingering Kickstarter Fade Collection

Monica knitting with the Kickstarter Fade Collection!

Monica knitting with the Kickstarter Fade Collection!

NEW: Botany and Entomology Collections:

We launched our new Botany and Entomology collections in time for the Summer TNNA show in Columbus, Ohio, adding 6 new colorways and 8 coordinating semisolids to each of these new collections, as well as added 3 new CLUB offerings:

The Entomology Collection Colorways. Left Column from top to bottom: Hubbard's Caterpillar, Cecropia Caterpillar, and Praying Mantis. Right Column from top to bottom: Luna Moth, Burnet Moth, and Leaf Hopper.

The Entomology Collection Colorways. Left Column from top to bottom: Hubbard's Caterpillar, Cecropia Caterpillar, and Praying Mantis. Right Column from top to bottom: Luna Moth, Burnet Moth, and Leaf Hopper.

The Entomology Collection Semisolids, Caterpillar Purple, Caterpillar Blue, Leaf Hopper Blue, Luna Blue, Mantis Green, Mantis Yellow, Caterpillar Orange, and Burnet Pink.

The Entomology Collection Semisolids, Caterpillar Purple, Caterpillar Blue, Leaf Hopper Blue, Luna Blue, Mantis Green, Mantis Yellow, Caterpillar Orange, and Burnet Pink.

The Botany Collection Colorways. Left Column from top to bottom: Jack in the Pulpit, Elderberry, and Wild Mustard. Right Column from top to bottom: California Poppy, Prickly Pear Cactus, and Succulents.

The Botany Collection Colorways. Left Column from top to bottom: Jack in the Pulpit, Elderberry, and Wild Mustard. Right Column from top to bottom: California Poppy, Prickly Pear Cactus, and Succulents.

The Botany Collection Semisolids, Elderberry Purple, Cactus Fruit, Pulpit Berry Red, Poppy Orange, Mustard Yellow, Pulpit Green, Succulent Green, and Pulpit Brown.

The Botany Collection Semisolids, Elderberry Purple, Cactus Fruit, Pulpit Berry Red, Poppy Orange, Mustard Yellow, Pulpit Green, Succulent Green, and Pulpit Brown.

November's Botany Club: Fade Collection in Black Tacca, Colorway in Black Tacca, and Coordinating Semisolid in Tacca Blue.

November's Botany Club: Fade Collection in Black Tacca, Colorway in Black Tacca, and Coordinating Semisolid in Tacca Blue.

CLUB 2017:

2017 was the year of the club subscription! Here are all the gorgeous club offerings from all three collections. They were very well received, and we really enjoyed making new colors every month!

June 2017 Club (left to right) Tanager Green & Green Headed Tanager, Wasp Purple & Cuckoo Wasp, and Lilac Purple & Lilac.

June 2017 Club (left to right) Tanager Green & Green Headed Tanager, Wasp Purple & Cuckoo Wasp, and Lilac Purple & Lilac.

July 2017 Club (top to bottom) Nuthatch & Nuthatch Blue, Blue Cohash & Cohash Blue, and Horned Caterpillar & Caterpillar Orange.

July 2017 Club (top to bottom) Nuthatch & Nuthatch Blue, Blue Cohash & Cohash Blue, and Horned Caterpillar & Caterpillar Orange.

August 2017 Club (left to right) Cecropia Moth & Cecropia Pink, Merganser & Merganser Brown, and Helleborine Orchid and Orchid Green.

August 2017 Club (left to right) Cecropia Moth & Cecropia Pink, Merganser & Merganser Brown, and Helleborine Orchid and Orchid Green.

September 2017 Club (left to right) Hopniss & Hopniss Flower, Rufous Red & Rufous Tailed Hummingbird, and Leopard Moth & Leopard Moth Blue.

September 2017 Club (left to right) Hopniss & Hopniss Flower, Rufous Red & Rufous Tailed Hummingbird, and Leopard Moth & Leopard Moth Blue.

October 2017 Club (left to right) Jewel Weed & Jewel Weed Stem, Barn Owl & Owl Brown, and Caterpillar Green & Monarch Caterpillar .

October 2017 Club (left to right) Jewel Weed & Jewel Weed Stem, Barn Owl & Owl Brown, and Caterpillar Green & Monarch Caterpillar .

November 2017 Club (top to bottom) Violet Backed Starling & Starling Pink, Black Tacca & Tacca Blue, and Bush Grasshopper & Grasshopper Purple.

November 2017 Club (top to bottom) Violet Backed Starling & Starling Pink, Black Tacca & Tacca Blue, and Bush Grasshopper & Grasshopper Purple.

December 2017 Club (left to right) Pine Grosbeak & Grosbeak Gray, Dragonfly & Dragonfly Blue, and Juniper & Juniper Berry.

December 2017 Club (left to right) Pine Grosbeak & Grosbeak Gray, Dragonfly & Dragonfly Blue, and Juniper & Juniper Berry.

Pattern Support:

We continued to offer pattern suggestions through Facebook, and made those pattern suggestions searchable with hashtags #RMFfingering etc. To search our suggestions, see the post pinned to the top of our FB page!  

Here are a few examples of gorgeous garments knit up in our yarns in 2017: 

Pattern: Miss Winkle by Martina Behm   Knit by: Tina (Ravelry: Tinoose) Collection: Entomology Colorway: Cecropia Caterpillar

Pattern: Miss Winkle by Martina Behm  
Knit by: Tina (Ravelry: Tinoose)
Collection: Entomology
Colorway: Cecropia Caterpillar

Pattern: Terrain by Janina Kallio Knit by: Danielle (Ravelry: scarvesandstars) Collection: Botany Colorway: Elderberry

Pattern: Terrain by Janina Kallio
Knit by: Danielle (Ravelry: scarvesandstars)
Collection: Botany
Colorway: Elderberry

Pattern: Reyna by Noora Laivola Knit by: Elizabeth (Ravelry: atlasphere) Collection: Ornithology Colorway: Dark Eyed Junco

Pattern: Reyna by Noora Laivola
Knit by: Elizabeth (Ravelry: atlasphere)
Collection: Ornithology
Colorway: Dark Eyed Junco

Pattern: Find Your Fade by Andrea Mowry Knit by: Sarah (Ravelry: sparker) Collection: Ornithology Colorways: Rosy Finch Purple, Black Rosy Finch, Cardinal Brown, Pink Browed Rose Finch, Rose Finch Brown, Mot Mot, Jay Green

Pattern: Find Your Fade by Andrea Mowry
Knit by: Sarah (Ravelry: sparker)
Collection: Ornithology
Colorways: Rosy Finch Purple, Black Rosy Finch, Cardinal Brown, Pink Browed Rose Finch, Rose Finch Brown, Mot Mot, Jay Green

Pattern: Puerperium Cardigan by Kelly Van Niekerk Knit by: Hannah (Ravelry: birchhl) Collection: Ornithology Colorway: Blue Jay and Jay Blue

Pattern: Puerperium Cardigan by Kelly Van Niekerk
Knit by: Hannah (Ravelry: birchhl)
Collection: Ornithology
Colorway: Blue Jay and Jay Blue

Trunk Show and collaboration with Jennifer Kirchenbauer:

We discovered the work of the incredibly talented Jennifer Kirchenbauer, who designed a series of really fun, elegant, and unique garments to showcase our yarns! Her garments are currently on tour with the Round Mountain Fibers Trunk show, and have made an appearance at Vogue Knitting live, Seattle, as well as Vogue Knitting Live, NYC! We are super excited about her work, and are offering kits through our LYSs, as well as our International Outlet Store.

The Pass Key Scarf knit and designed by Jennifer Kirchenbauer of LavishCraft. 

The Pass Key Scarf knit and designed by Jennifer Kirchenbauer of LavishCraft. 

The Pass Key Scarf pattern kit in Wild Mustard and Succulents.

The Pass Key Scarf pattern kit in Wild Mustard and Succulents.

The Oriflamme Shawl knit and designed by Jennifer Kirchenbauer of LavishCraft.

The Oriflamme Shawl knit and designed by Jennifer Kirchenbauer of LavishCraft.

The Oriflamme Shawl pattern kit in Prickly Pear Cactus Collection (Prickly Pear Cactus, Cactus Fruit, Mustard Yellow, and Pulpit Green)

The Oriflamme Shawl pattern kit in Prickly Pear Cactus Collection (Prickly Pear Cactus, Cactus Fruit, Mustard Yellow, and Pulpit Green)

The Divisionism Shawl knit and designed by Jennifer Kirchenbauer of LavishCraft.

The Divisionism Shawl knit and designed by Jennifer Kirchenbauer of LavishCraft.

The Divisionism Shawl pattern kit in Bird's of a Feather #8 (House Finch, Bunting Brown, Finch Blush, and Anna's Hummingbird)

The Divisionism Shawl pattern kit in Bird's of a Feather #8 (House Finch, Bunting Brown, Finch Blush, and Anna's Hummingbird)

To see where the Trunk Show is going next, CLICK HERE!

We Launched our International Outlet Store!

As a wholesale business, our priority has always been our relationship with our Local Yarn Shops, as they are the reason we’re in business! However, we did need an outlet for our seconds and one-of-a-kind experimental colorways. So we launched our Seconds Store through www.roundmountainfibers.com. We discovered that we had a significant fan base in Canada, and after being in touch with several Canadian LYSs we realized that the exchange rate and cost of importing made the sale of our yarns prohibitive for Canadian shops. So we decided to launch our International Outlet Store, at www.roundmountainfibers.biz so that we could offer all of our products to our international fans. We’re super excited about this venture, and look forward to shipping our yarn all over the world. So far, we’ve shipped to countries far and wide, including Australia, Vietnam and Germany!  

New for 2018!

We are super excited about our NEW Pooling Semisolids for 2018! These are yet another monthly club option available to our LYSs (and to our international customers)! Pooling Semisolids have a greater range of shades in each skein, for a more nuanced semisolid, with pools of color throughout:

Bittersweet Berry and Bittersweet Berry Pooling Semisolid.

Bittersweet Berry and Bittersweet Berry Pooling Semisolid.

Dogbane Blue and Dogbane Blue Pooling Semisolid.

Dogbane Blue and Dogbane Blue Pooling Semisolid.

Bee-Eater Blue and Bee-Eater Blue Pooling Semisolid.

Bee-Eater Blue and Bee-Eater Blue Pooling Semisolid.

We had lots of giveaways this year and look forward to many more in 2018! Here are a few examples of the beautiful yarn we gave away this year!

giveaway 1 new.JPG
giveaway 2.JPG
giveaway 3.jpg

Here is our CURRENT Facebook giveaway: 

Win this yarn for you and a friend! See giveaway details below!

Win this yarn for you and a friend! See giveaway details below!

Win this yarn for you and a friend! See giveaway details below!

Win this yarn for you and a friend! See giveaway details below!

Want to win this FREE yarn? All you have to do is:

1. Like our Page

2. Tag a friend who would love to win free yarn.

When we reach 5,000 'likes' on Facebook, we'll give you AND your friend this yarn!

Each skein contains 400 yards of hand-dyed superwash Merino deliciousness. One is our regular semisolid, and the other is our NEW for 2018 Pooling Semisolid!